Editors' Association of Canada/Association canadienne des réviseurs Minutes of 2011 Annual General Meeting Simon Fraser University at Harbour Centre Vancouver, British Colombia May 28, 2011

1. Call to order

The annual general meeting of members of the Editors' Association of Canada was called to order by the president, Michelle Boulton, at 3:20 p.m.

2. Approval of agenda

Volunteer recognition was added to the agenda.

Move Moved by Moira White, seconded by Ruth Pincoe, to approve the agenda, as amended.

CARRIED.

3. Volunteer Recognition

Move Moved by Greg Ioannou, seconded by the entire national executive council (NEC), to

award Maureen Nicholson an honourary life membership in the Editors' Association of

Canada. CARRIED.

There was a round of applause for Maureen.

4. Approval of AGM minutes of May 29, 2010

Motion: MOVED by Lee d'Anjou, seconded by Rachel Stuckey, to approve the minutes of the

2010 annual general meeting. CARRIED.

5. Approval of the annual report

Movement Movement Movement Movement M

CARRIED.

6. Approval of the auditors' report

Motion: MOVED by Sheila Mahoney, seconded by Debra Roppolo, to approve the auditors'

report. CARRIED with one abstention.

7. Appointment of auditor for 2011–12

Move Moved by Sheila Mahoney, seconded by Lee d'Anjou, to retain the services of

Cowperthwaite Mehta as EAC's auditor for 2011–12. CARRIED with one abstention.

8. Recognition of the NEC's hard work on *Editing EAC*

Move Moved by Lee d'Anjou, seconded by Barbara K. Adamski, to thank the national

executive for carrying out *Editing EAC* and for getting it right. CARRIED.

9. Approval of new branch policy

Motion: MOVED by Daphne Sams, seconded by Rosemary Tanner, to approve the branch policy,

as previously put forward. CARRIED.

10. Motions from the floor

A. Motion to review the Conflict of Interest Policy

MOVED by Lynne Melcombe, seconded by Barbara K. Adamski, that EAC's Conflict of Interest Policy be reviewed in light of the national executive council's decision to dissolve the Contract Collective committee.

Discussion focused on whether the original motion was to actually revise the conflict of interest policy or to reverse the national executive council's decision to dissolve the Contract Collective committee.

Friendly amendment MOVED by Lee d'Anjou that the name of the Conflict of Interest Policy be put in quotes or uppercase to identify it as an official name.

Amendment MOVED by Lynne Melcombe that EAC review the Conflict of Interest Policy and EAC's constitution in light of the decision made regarding the Contract Collective committee and other foreseeable activities that might have commercial ramifications in the future.

Discussion focused on the definition of "commercial activities" and raised two primary questions:

1) which commercial activities fit with the mandate of EAC and which don't, and 2) which commercial activities are acceptable ways to fulfil EAC's mandate.

MOTION WITHDRAWN.

MOVED by Lynne Melcombe, seconded by Barbara K. Adamski, that, as part of its planned review of the constitution and related issues, the national executive council will review the Conflict of Interest Policy and define the commercial activities that may have legal and ethical ramifications and return to the membership with any recommendations arising out of this review. CARRIED with one opposed and two abstentions.

B. Motion to exempt certified editors from paying any ongoing certification fees to appear on the roster MOVED by Lee d'Anjou, seconded by James Harbeck, that members who have passed the relevant certification test be included on the certified editors' roster without further charge.

Discussion focused on the fact that credential maintenance involves costs that are separate from membership fees and that membership fees should not support the administrative costs of maintaining the certifications of certified editors. A suggestion was made to create and keep a roster of certified editors in perpetuity with no charge to these editors regardless of whether they continue their credential maintenance.

DEFEATED with 73 opposed, 27 in favour and 10 abstentions.

C. Motion that all future AGM motions be presented in writing to the entire EAC membership in advance of the EAC's annual general meeting

MOVED by Maureen Nicholson, seconded by Debra Roppolo, that all future AGM motions be presented in writing to entire membership in advance of the EAC's annual general meeting.

Friendly amendment MOVED by Rachel Stuckey that EAC look into the language, information and mechanisms required to implement this process.

MOTION WITHDRAWN.

Action:

Ruth Wilson volunteered to research the language, information and mechanisms required to make it possible to mandate that all future AGM motions be presented in writing to the entire membership in advance of the EAC's annual general meeting, and propose the appropriate wording for the organization to implement this process.

11. Elections

Moira White introduced the elections.

- a) National executive council
- i) Elected positions

The following members were elected by acclamation:

President	Greg Ioannou (TO)
Vice-President	Melva McLean (BC)
Secretary	Debra Roppolo (TO)
Treasurer	Danielle Arbuckle (TO)
Director, Professional Standards	Sheila Mahoney (TO)
Director, Training & Development	Jacqueline Dinsmore (QAC)
Director, Communications	. Adrienne Montgomerie (NCR-Kingston)
Director, Publications	Kevin Burns (NCR)
Director, Francophone Affairs	Sandra Gravel (QAC)
Director, Volunteer Relations	Gael Spivak (NCR)

ii) Appointed positions

The national executive council has three voting members who are not elected at the AGM:

Past President	Michelle Boulton (SK)
Director, Branches and Twigs (west)	Arden Ogg (PP)
Director, Branches and Twigs (east)	To be elected by digital ballot

Rachel Stuckey (TO) and Ken Weinberg (TO) have stated their intention to stand for election as Director, Branches and Twigs (east). Toronto-, NCR- and QAC-branch members with voting privileges will elect the Director, Branches and Twigs (east) by digital ballot in the weeks following the AGM.

b) Committee chairs

i) Appointed positions that are not members of the national executive council

As of the February 2011 referendum, all committee chairs and national volunteer positions will be appointed by the national executive council. These appointments will be made at a subsequent meeting of the national executive council and their appointments will be announced in June.

Chair, Francophone Affairs Committee	Anna Olivier (QAC)
Chair, Marketing and Public Relations Committee Alethea Spiridon (TC	
Co-chair (French), Newsletter Committee	Gilles Vilasco (QAC)
Co-chair, Conference Committee	Christine LeBlanc (NCR)
Co-chair, Conference Committee	Gael Spivak (NCR)
Chair, Member Communication Committee	Faith Gildenhuys (BC)
Mediator	Michael Benedict (TO)
Forum (IV) Monitor	Joanne Haskins (TO)
List Monitor	Mark Lindenberg (TO)
Chair, External Liaison Committee	Executive Director
Chair (ex officio), Human Resources Committee	President
Chair (ex officio), Nominating Committee	Past President

The following national positions remain vacant.

Chair, Certification Steering Committee

Chair, Member Services Committee

Co-chair (English), Newsletter Committee

Chair, Professional Standards Committee

Chair, Publications Committee

Chair, Training and Development Committee

Chair, Volunteer Management Committee

Chair, Website Committee

12. Adjournment

MOVED by Heather Ebbs to adjourn. CARRIED.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:35 p.m.