Editors' Association of Canada/Association canadienne des réviseurs Minutes of Annual General Meeting 2008 Shaw Conference Centre, Salon 3 Edmonton, Alberta June 7, 2008

1. Call to order

The annual general meeting of members of the Editors' Association of Canada was called to order by the president, Moira White, at 3:42 p.m.

2. Approval of agenda

MOVED by Blossom Thom, seconded by Brendan Wild, to approve the agenda as presented. CARRIED.

3. Approval of AGM minutes of June 2, 2007

MOVED by Beverly Ensom, seconded by Barbara K. Adamski, to approve the minutes of the 2007 annual general meeting. CARRIED.

4. Approval of the annual report

MOVED by Licia Paddison, seconded by Brendan Wild, to approve the annual report. CARRIED.

5. Approval of the auditors' report

MOVED by Greg Ioannou, seconded by Barbara K. Adamski, to approve the auditors' report. CARRIED.

6. Appointment of the auditor for 2008–09

MOVED by Greg Ioannou, seconded by Mary Anne Carswell, to retain the services of Cowperthwaite Mehta as EAC's auditor for 2008–09. CARRIED.

- **Noted:** A review of the auditor is conducted every four to five years. This review will take place again next year.
- **Noted:** EAC's accrual- versus cash-based accounting troubles were caused by problems with the association's bookkeeping rather than its auditing.

7. Motion to award honorary life membership to Prairie Provinces branch member Anita Jenkins

MOVED by Peter Roccia, seconded by Brendan Wild, on behalf of the Prairie Provinces branch, that honorary life membership be awarded to Prairie Provinces branch member Anita Jenkins. (The Prairie Provinces branch's original written nomination is appended to these minutes.) CARRIED.

There was a standing ovation for Anita.

8. Motions from the floor

There were no motions from the floor.

9. Elections

Maureen Nicholson introduced the elections.	
a) National executive council	
i) Elected positions	
The following members were elected by acclamation:	
President	Moira White (NCR)
Vice-President	Michelle Boulton (SN)
Secretary	Mary Anne Carswell (TO)
Treasurer	

Member-at-Large	Gaëlle Chevalier (TO)
Member-at-Large	Krysia P. Lear (TO)

ii) Appointed positions

The national executive council has seven voting members who are not elected at the AGM:		
Past President	Maureen Nicholson (BC)	
British Columbia branch representative	Dania Sheldon	
Prairie Provinces branch representative	Paul Payson	
Saskatoon branch representative	Michelle Boulton	
Toronto branch representative	Ken Weinberg	
National Capital Region branch representative	Beverly Ensom	
Quebec/Atlantic Canada branch representative	Julia Cochrane	

- b) Committee chairs
- i) Elected positions

The following committee chairs were elected by acclamation by the membership. They are not members of the national executive council.

Francophone Affairs Committee chair	Anna Olivier (QAC)
List Monitor	Antonia Morton (NCR)
Marketing and Public Relations Committee chair	Barbara K. Adamski (BC)
Member Communication Committee chair	Faith Gildenhuys (BC)
Membership Committee chair	Heather Ebbs (NCR)
Newsletter Committee chair	Cheryl Hannah (BC) and Wilf Popoff (SN)
Online Job Tools Committee chair	Alan Yoshioka (TO)
Publications Committee chair	David Jolliffe (TO)
Training and Development Committee chair	Lynne Massey (TO)

ii) Appointed positions

The following committee chairs were announced to be appointed at a subsequent meeting of the national executive council:

Certification Steering Committee chair	Zofia Laubitz (QAC)
Conference Committee chair	John Green (TO)
Forum Monitor	Joanne Haskins (TO)
Mediator	Jane Kidner (TO)
Professional Standards Committee chair	Frances Peck (BC)
External Liaison Committee chair	Marta Horban (Executive Director)
Human Resources Committee chair	Moira White (President)
Nominating Committee chair	
Website Committee chair	Ken Weinberg (TO)

10. Other business

There was a gift presentation and a warm round of applause for outgoing committee chairs and national executive council members who served in 2007–08.

11. Adjournment

MOVED by Greg Ioannou to adjourn. CARRIED.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:13 p.m.